Dinner for One: Lamb & Pepper Penne Pasta

Cooking for myself isn’t something I’m very good at. I always mess up the portion size (especially with pasta I never know how much I end up tilting from the box into the pot) and end up with leftovers that can sometimes get lost in the madness that is our refrigerator.

But a few nights ago, I was home alone with a stocked fridge and decided to cook up a little something while I watched Jeopardy in the kitchen and had a glass of red wine.

After checking out my options, I decided to fry up the lamb chops that needed to be used up and go from there. The pasta I came up with might be my new favorite pasta. I’ve only had lamb in pasta maybe once before, and it was just as good as I remembered. With some Greek seasonings and feta cheese, it ended up being the perfect meal for one.

Lamb & Pepper Penne Pasta

  • 2 small lamb chops
  • S&P and crushed rosemary to season chops
  • Canola oil to coat pan
  • 1 small yellow onion, diced
  • 2 stalks of celery, diced
  • 1 orange pepper, diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, sliced very thinly
  • ½ cup of dry white wine (I used Chardonnay)
  • Penne pasta (or pasta of your choice)
  • Feta cheese
  • 1 teaspoon basil leaves
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  1. Boil water for pasta and cook until al dente according to box directions.
  2. Cover the bottom of a pan with canola oil and heat over medium high heat.
  3. Season lamb chops with S&P and crushed rosemary.
  4. Cook lamb chops over medium high heat for about 4 minutes each side. Once cooked, set aside and allow them to rest and cool.
  5. Using the same oil you cooked the lamb chops in, add the diced onion, garlic, celery, and yellow pepper. Turn down heat to medium-low so you don’t burn anything and allow the veggies to soften for about 7 minutes.
  6. Add 1 tsp. oregano and 1 tsp. of basil leaves.
  7. Add ½ cup of white wine and bring to boil. Once boiling, turn down heat and let simmer for 10 minutes.
  8. Shred the lamb and add it to the pan, along with the cooked pasta and feta cheese.
  9. Mix together in hot pan and serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

