Tuscan Chicken

There’s an arrangement currently happening in my house that I dig. I cook. My mom cleans. A win-win.

You see, I like to get down and dirty in the kitchen…literally. I usually end up using about six different dish towels, a few different pans, maybe a couple cutting boards, and about 12 spoons so I can taste everything along the way. So, things can get a little messy.

But, there’s hope for me yet. The one pot meal. A gift from above! Why have I never attempted a one-pot meal until now? Oh right, because I don’t have to scrub up my own mess seventy five percent of the time.

So I tried out my first one-pot meal in my beloved, heavy bottom turquoise Le Creuset pan and it turned out great. A recipe of my own and one that you can throw in the oven for an hour and forget about. That way you have time to pour yourself a glass of wine before dinner.

Tuscan Chicken

  1. Chicken (Here I used a whole broken-down chicken, but any cut will work)
  2. Basil leaves
  3. Crushed rosemary
  4. S&P
  5. Canola Oil
  6. 1 yellow onion
  7. 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  8. 1/2 cup white wine
  9. Sprig of rosemary
  10. 1 package of mushrooms
  11. 2 cans of great northern beans, drained and rinsed
  12. 1 bag of spinach
  13. 1 cup of chicken stock
  14. Rice
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees

  • Season chicken with S&P, basil leaves, and crushed rosemary.

  • Heat canola oil in heavy bottom pan and brown chicken on both sides for about 2 minutes. Set aside and don’t dump the oil from the pan

  • Throw in the chopped onion and rosemary sprig. Let sweat for about 5 minutes before adding the wine to the hot pan. The alcohol will scrape up all the flavor-packed brown bits on the bottom of the pan, adding lots of flavor and goodness. Let the onion and wine mixture reduce by half.

  • Add the mushrooms and let them brown.

  • Next up, add the beans, chicken stock, and spinach. Cover and let simmer for 15 minutes.

  • Put the chicken back in the pot, cover, and bake for one hour.

  • Serve over rice and enjoy.
Leave a Reply

