Ham and Cheese Sliders

Ever since I tried and made these sweet and savory roast beef sliders, I’ve been on the hunt for another slider recipe to add to my blog. Because, sliders are cute, small, and “okay” to eat a couple of without feeling guilty. (That’s what I tell myself anyways.) Plus, my Dad tends to like mini things, like sliders, bagel bites and small bottles of Gatorade.

So after hours of wasting my life away on Pinterest, I finally found the perfect recipe to try out for Steeler Sunday. I knew in my heart and my belly that the recipe with ham, Swiss cheese, butter, and onions could not be a bad combination and would be worthy of a blog post. Sure enough, I was right. Like always. Right, Dad? 😉

Ham and Cheese Sliders

  • 2 packages of Hawaiian sweet rolls
  • 1 lb. of sliced ham
  • 1/2 lb. of Swiss cheese
  • 1 small onion, finely diced
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 2 tablespoons of Dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce
  • 3 teaspoons of poppy seeds
  • Mayonnaise to cover top half of bread

1. Preheat oven to 350.

2. Melt the butter in a skillet and add the diced onion. Cook until the onions become soft.

3. Add the Dijon mustard, Worcestershire, and poppy seeds. Allow the flavors to meld together for a few minutes over low heat.

4. Slice the Hawaiian rolls in half and cover one side with mayonnaise and one with the onion poppyseed mixture.

5. Stack the ham and cheese on the buns and then with a kitchen brush, gently cover the top of the buns with a light layer of the onion poppyseed mixture.

6. Cover with foil and bake for 10 minutes, then remove foil and bake for another 5 minutes until cheese is melted.

5 comments
  1. azdon said:

    This is bound to be a good one! I’m not real familiar with sliders of any kind – here in the West Coast area, we’re mostly all about In ‘N’ Out burgers – but I’ve seen them on television programs. This is an interesting take on that idea – and my mind is whirling at all the possibilities with that onion-poppyseed sauce…

    In my area, we have King’s Hawaiian rolls and bread – it that what I’d use for these?

    ~D

Leave a Reply

