Restaurant Review: Nicky’s Thai Kitchen

I had been wanting to check out Nicky’s Thai Kitchen in the North Side for a while, but it was just never that convenient to trek over there and grab a table. And until last week, I had no idea that they had a second location in Verona—making it the perfect meeting spot to grab dinner before a movie at the Mills. Plus it’s BYOB and they have no cork fee on weekdays! It’s the little things that make me and my $12 bottle of Mark West Pinot Noir happy.

The decor at Nicky’s isn’t something I’d rave about, but the smell of the place from forty feet away is. Seriously, as soon as we parked and exited the car, I was greeted by a delicious scent wafting from the restaurant. MUST.GO.GET.THAI.FOOD.NOW. is what my heart/belly told me.

Seated at the corner table by the window, we started the meal with the Crab Rangoon appetizer. Which of course was delightful as all things that are fried and filled with cream cheese are. The homemade pineapple sauce was the perfect dipping sauce for the rangoons, lending a lighter, fruity note to the creamy crab.

Crab Rangoon. Crispy wonton, crab meat, cream cheese, green onion, served with homemade pineapple sauce.(Taken after we already popped a few in our mouth. They looked too good to not dig in!)

For my entrée, I had the shrimp Phad Thai, which I know is unadventurous in the foodie world when having Thai food, but I just love it and want to eat it every chance I can get. And the Phad Thai at Nicky’s was delicious and piping hot. I was, in the most lady-like way possible, shoveling the stir-fried and soaked noodles into my mouth. I’d like to think that the next time I go to Nicky’s I’ll venture out of my Phad Thai comfort zone…but I really can’t make any promises.

Phad Thai. Stir fried rice noodles with shrimp garnished with fresh bean sprouts, scallions and crushed roasted peanuts.

The Jalapeno Beef. Stir-fried garlic with beef, jalapeno, yellow onion, scallions, and spicy brown sauce.

I will definitely be heading back to Nicky’s next time I’m craving Thai. I want to try every appetizer on the menu and maybe even go crazy and get the chicken Phad Thai! Only if I’m feeling dangerous though. 😉

And lastly on a cooking note–have any of my readers tried making their own Phad Thai at home? I’m thinking it would be the perfect thing to jazz up our usual family dinners and it’s an excuse to go to my Mecca–Whole Foods. Let me know in the comments if you’ve made it in your kitchen & want to share the recipe or tips.

Nicky's Thai Kitchen on Urbanspoon

3 comments
  1. Katie said:

    Thanks to your review I remembered Nicky’s after we realized it would take hours to get into Smiling Banana Leaf! It was fabulous! I got the pork pad thai (delicious), and my dining partner tried one of their specials. We did get the samosas for an app, and I highly recommend them. 🙂 Though the place is quite cramped, it was well worth it!

    • Glad you liked it! I’m on a mission to try Pad Thai at every Thai place in the city 🙂

Leave a Reply

