Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

I bought a butternut squash at the supermarket in hopes of whipping up a warm, comforting soup for my family after the hectic holiday weekend of family get-togethers, gift wrapping, and over indulgence.

I found this recipe on Food Network that called for only 5 ingredients and I was sold. I added a granny smith apple to my version because I had seen this soup on menus before with apples and had one on my counter, so in it went. I also roasted the butternut squash, so the way I prepared the recipe is a bit different as well.

The soup turned out smooth and delicious, it was the perfect way to warm up on these cold, winter nights. I sprinkled a little half and half on top at the end to jazz it up with some sunflower seeds, but you could eliminate that all together for a soup recipe without any cream.

Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

  • 1 butternut squash, peeled and seeded
  • 2 tbsp. unsalted butter
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 granny smith apple, peeled and diced
  • 6 cups chicken broth (I used the 48 oz. carton found at grocery stores)
  • Grated nutmeg
  • S&P

*To garnish the soup I added a touch of half and half and sunflower seeds at the end.

I decided to add the apple while I was sauteeing the onion, which is why it's not included in this picture.

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Before

2. Peel and seed your butternut squash. Next, cut into uniform chunks, season with S&P, and toss with some EVOO. Roast in the oven for about 30 minutes and toss a few times while they are cooking so one side doesn’t burn.

After

3. Chop the onion and apple. Melt butter in the pan and saute until soft.

4. Put the apple and onion, roasted butternut squash, and chicken broth in a stock pot. Season with S&P and allow the flavors to meld over low heat for about 10 minutes.

5. Blend together everything in the stock pot and grate the nutmeg right into the soup. Season to taste.

6. Serve hot and top with a dash of cream (I used half and half) and sunflower seeds.

2 comments
  1. Monica said:

    This soup was so delicious! I was lucky enough to taste it from Molly! I love soup, and this was the best soup I’ve had in a long time. A great soup that just warms up the body, and the texture of the soup is fantastic. I wish I had a bowl right now!!!

Leave a Reply

