Roman Chicken

I have had Giada’s Roman-style chicken recipe bookmarked on my computer for months now. It is her most reviewed recipe on the Food Network site and with over 800 reviews that mostly say how delicious, healthy, and easy it is– I finally gave in and made this dish.

I added mushrooms and omitted the capers, so this Roman chicken ended up being a lot like Chicken Cacciatore—which is fine by me since it’s one of my all-time favorites. My Mom used to make Chicken Cacciatore in the crock-pot when I was younger, so this dish paired with rice is one that brings me right back to eating dinner in my plaid uniform at our old house on Vermeer Drive.

You can use boneless chicken breasts and thighs, but I think the bone-in gives the chicken more flavor. I bought bone-in breasts and thighs and just removed the skin.

Roman Chicken

*Serves 5 hungry adults

  • 3 skinless chicken breast halves, with ribs
  • 4 skinless chicken thighs, with bones
  • S&P to season chicken
  • Olive oil to coat pan
  • 3 peppers, sliced (I used one red, one green, and one yellow)
  • 1 box of sliced mushrooms (Use however many you like)
  • 4 ounces prosciutto, chopped (I used the pre-packed and chopped 4 oz. pack of prosciutto)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 (15-ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1 tablespoon fresh thyme leaves
  • 1 teaspoon fresh oregano leaves
  • 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • Fresh chopped flat-leaf parsley

1. Season the chicken with salt and pepper. Pour olive oil to coat pan over medium high heat. Then brown chicken on both sides for a few minutes. Remove from the pan and set aside.

2. Using the same oil from the chicken, cook the prosciutto until crisp.

3. Add the peppers and mushrooms to the prosciutto. Let them cook down for about 5 minutes. Then add the garlic and cook for a minute.

4. Next add the tomatoes, wine, and fresh thyme and oregano. Scrape the brown bits on the bottom of the pan up with a wooden spoon.

5. Return the chicken to the pan and add the stock. Bring the mixture to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer, covered, for 20-30 minutes.

6. Put the chicken on a serving dish and sprinkle with parsley. If you think your sauce is too thin, sprinkle some corn starch or flour a bit at a time and stir, until you get the consistency you desire.

*This is a great make-ahead dish. After you simmer the chicken, bring it to room temperature and put it in the fridge for up to 24 hours. Simply reheat and serve. Great for dinner parties and company.

Pollo alla Romana

3 comments
  1. Caraline said:

    This was so delicious and healthy! I am adding the recipe to my box, so I can make it at my house next time!

  2. Sandi said:

    Made this for my family and they loved it. Now I’m cooking it for my dad’s 75th birthday dinner.

    • Glad you liked it! It’s definitely a good one 🙂

Leave a Reply

