Use-What-You-Have Chicken Casserole

When I made this casserole today, I felt like a 50’s housewife. Like the kinda gal who spends all day chopping vegetables while wearing three inch heels, a floral apron, and a face full of perfectly done make-up. There’s just something about casseroles that remind me of Mrs. Arnold from the “Wonder Years” and June Cleaver. That no-nonsense idea of spending all day in the kitchen with every curl perfectly in place.

But back to 2012 where in reality, I was in my kitchen wearing a T-shirt and flip flops with my hair on top of my head. I decided to try my own take on a chicken, rice, and vegetable casserole figuring as long as I got a can of creamed soup in there, It’d qualify as a casserole. I basically used whatever we had in the fridge, and it turned out just as I thought it would, warm, comforting, and tasty.

I didn’t use exact measurements in this recipe, so it’s more of a guide rather than something you need to follow perfectly.

Use-What-You-Have Casserole

  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • 3 carrots, peeled and diced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 3 stalks of celery, diced
  • Bag of frozen broccoli
  • 2 cups of white rice (cooked according to package directions)
  • 8 chicken boneless, skinless chicken strips
  • 1 can of cream of chicken soup (I had cream of chicken, cream of mushroom or celery works too)
  • 1 can of chicken broth
  • Cheddar cheese
  • S&P

1. Dice the vegetables, season with salt and pepper,  and saute in olive oil and butter until softened.

2. While the vegetables saute, cook the rice and boil the chicken.

3. Add the cream of chicken and chicken broth to the vegetables until it forms a sauce. You can add some water or milk if it is not the consistency you want or even more creamy soup.

4. Dice the chicken and add to the sauce with the rice. Mix everything together and put in a casserole dish. Top with cheddar cheese.

5. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes until cheese is melted.

 

2 comments
  1. Randy said:

    Looks fantastic. Can’t go wrong with comfort food

Leave a Reply

