Creamy Corn with Onion & Jalapeno

As the summer comes to a close, I’ve been snatching up all the sweet corn I can get my hands on. Since corn is at its best in the summer, prices are low and the quality is great. A perfect combo if you ask me.

I picked up six ears of corn for my family the other night and I’d usually just boil them and serve them on the cob, but I wanted to try something new. I was inspired by the post I wrote over at BlogLocal and my sister’s love of cream corn to try this dish and it turned out really good. As in as soon as it was ready, my family grabbed spoons and we starting digging straight in.

Make this while corn is still season and you won’t be disappointed.

Creamed Corn

  • 6 ears of corn
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 1 jalapeno, finely diced
  • Butter and oil to cover pan
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • S&P

  

1. Start by taking the corn off the cob with a sharp knife. This can get messy, so it’s best to do in the bowl you’re using so the kernels can fall in the bowl rather than all over the kitchen floor.

2. Dice a yellow onion and one jalapeno. I removed the seeds from the jalapeno so the corn wouldn’t be too spicy, but if you prefer lots of heat, keep the seeds.

3. Put butter and oil in pan and let onions and jalapenos sweat for about 4 minutes over medium low heat.

4. Add the corn and 1/2 cup of water. Bring to a boil, then cover and let simmer for 10-15 minutes.

5. Take a few big spoonfuls of corn and put it into a food processor. Add as much heavy cream as you like. I added probably about a 1/4 cup. You want to pulse the mixture until it is creamy.

6. Add to the corn, stir together and let flavors mingle for a few minutes. Serve hot.

Leave a comment